Spearfishing Trophies and Awards

Cencal's first national championship team: Don Barthman, Roger Chung, Dale Sanders, 1965

National Awards

Helms Award = Spearfishing Athlete of the Year

This is a medallion issued to the top diver in the U. S. This was first awarded in 1952.

For a history of this award go to Helms Award.

To view photos of each year's winner, go to Athlete of the Year..

Owen Churchill Trophy = First Place Mens Team in the National Meet

CenCal teams won in 1965, 1968, 1992, 1995, 1996, 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2016. To see CenCal's winners click here CenCal Champions.

The list of all winners, starting in 1950, can be accessed at Churchill.

Kate Miller Trophy = First Place Womens Team in the National Meet

CenCal teams were the champions in 1975, 1980, and 2000.

See Kate Miller for this list, also starting in 1950.

Mixed Team Trophy

A Mixed Team is composed of one male and one female diver or one adult and one minor (under age 18). It dates from 2004. This is awarded to the first place mixed team of each U. S. National Meet.

Go to Mixed Team Trophy. for this list.

Regional Meets

Schnepperschoff Trophy = High Point Individual in PCC Meet

This award is in memory of Al Schnepperschoff who was bit in the leg by a great white and bled to death while spearfishing for tuna. This trophy has been silent for a few years but for a list of the winners we are aware of go to Schnepperschoff..

Local Awards

W. J. Voit Perpetual Trophy

The Voit Trophy is awarded to the top CenCal team of the year. The list of winners can be viewed at Voit Trophy.

Harry Hague Trophy

This is awarded to the CenCal individual scoring the most points from the year's team meets. It was sponsored by the East Bay Barnacle dive club but has not been issues in some years as clubs wax and wane.

The list of winners can be viewed at Harry Hague Trophy.